Preparing for my second application cycle - WAMC/Advice building my school list

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KeepAustinWeird

Reaction score
Hi y'all,

I am a Texas resident currently preparing to reapply this cycle after a difficult first cycle where I did not match. For context, I had 5 IIs in-state from Baylor, UTSW, McGovern, TTUHSC, and UTMB. I am currently on the waitlist for all 5 schools. I think the main reasons why things didn't go well were that I submitted my secondary applications extremely late (wasn't complete until early-mid September), and my interview skills were not the best, although I didn't think any of them went extremely poorly. I also did not apply broadly, as I only applied to 12 schools with 9 of them being in-state TX MD schools. I've been told by nearly everyone to apply more broadly out-of-state to increase my chances this time around, so any advice on specific schools I should be targeting would be greatly appreciated.

Here are my stats and ECS below:

Stats:
cGPA: 3.98
sGPA: 3.98
MCAT: 515

ECs:

Clinical experience:
-Hospital Volunteer (transported patients, answered patient call lights, cleaned patient beds, organized patient charts): 900+ hours
-Medical assistant/scribe at urology clinic: 20 hours, 2000+ hours planned (this is my gap-year job I just started)

Shadowing:
-Around 80 hours; shadowed a internal med physician, ortho surgeon, and neurosurgeon

Research experience:
-Conservation biology research assistant (no posters or publications): 500 hours

Leadership experience:
-I train college students to volunteer at our local hospital, have been doing this for ~3.5 years
-I served as a camp counselor at a health sciences/medical summer camp for kids, roughly ~40-50 hours