This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

minmoo

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I've made this account because I'm in need of advice. :)

I'm an undergraduate psychology (BA) major in TX and I'm to graduate in December. My goal is to go to grad school in a few years, my interests are developmental/child psychology and counseling psychology. I currently do not have research experience besides taking two research courses and doing presentations over journal articles and using SPSS. I'm also a student officer in a psychology club for the past year. I also have a website with various topics ranging from mental health to college tips and minority stories, though I don't have much of an audience. I've applied to be a mental health ambassador at my university but am waiting to hear back, I've also applied to an internship and a job for online mental health.

The main thing I want to do is work in child psychology and, from my understanding, I would need to get into an APA accredited PhD program. I plan to do psychology-related internships, obtain an associate degree in teaching early childhood education grades 8-12 (only 6 classes since I already have an associates of arts) to find a child-focused job in the meantime after an internship, and do research work afterwards while studying for the GRE before applying to a graduate program.

I took a clinical and counseling class, and it piqued my interest, I have thought of getting a master's in counseling but realized that may not be the best option, I'm looking into social work as well. The main thing is I want to work with children, adolescents, and young adults, which is why I am thinking of doing a PhD instead in a few years rather than a masters.

I'm more interested in reading research rather than conducting research, though I am not entirely opposed to it, and I know I will have to do research anyways for a PhD program.