Prep Books for 12 month Studying Schedule?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

11n6tardis

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a sophomore right now and I'm planning on studying for the MCAT for about 11-12 months. I have already taken all the prerequisites and am taking biochem junior year.

My plan is to use EK complete set to review since I heard that they are brief. Then later on in the year use BR. However, because I haven't taken biochem yet, should I use BR biochem (since it's very detailed from what I've heard) along with the rest of the EK books for the first few months of review? This would be for the spring semester, before I take biochem in the fall.

Or should I use BR set first, and then EK set? I might also add in PR if I finished the materials in the other books.

Also, I'm planing to study 2 hours a day so with my academic workload this shouldn't be too much.

Sorry if this seems confusing or vague, but please give me any suggestions.

Thank you so much!

Members don't see this ad.

I would actually recommend doing that in reverse order from what you proposed. The strength of the BR books is the many passages and examples that integrate multiple topics. The answer explanations are second to none, which will help you grow and learn as you review what you miss. Once you have the strategies and shortcuts mastered, then it's a great idea to apply them on other materials such EK. Some of the trickiest questions in other materials are made super easy using the BR method. A perfect example is the acids and bases. Using the BR approach, the hardest pH question from any source can be done in 15 seconds or less. You should build those skills first before branching out to a variety of questions from other sources. I'd also like to suggest that you mix in the AAMC packs too.