Prelim Year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

2muchplanning

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Pardon me if this has already been addressed.

I was doing a little research on residency programs in Radiology and as I understand it most (if not all) require a prelim year either translational OR in a clinical department. I was wondering how, as a medical student, you coordinate where you do this transitional year and where you do your Radiology Residency.
Do you apply to both simultaneously (and independantly)?
Do you apply to the Radiology residency after the prelim year?
Do you match with the residency program and then work out the first year with them?

As you can see, as a pre-clinical med student, I'm a little confused (and wet behind the ears).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

It has been addressed.

'Yes' to the first statement.
'Maybe' to the second statement. If you don't match the first time around you can apply during your prelim year for a spot begining in 2 years. You'll have an extra year to kill, unless you are lucky enough to get a spot outside the match.
'Sort of' to the last statement. Some programs are 5 years long, integrating the internship into the residency.

Do your homework.
Good luck. :luck:

2muchplanning said:
Pardon me if this has already been addressed.

I was doing a little research on residency programs in Radiology and as I understand it most (if not all) require a prelim year either translational OR in a clinical department. I was wondering how, as a medical student, you coordinate where you do this transitional year and where you do your Radiology Residency.