Pregnancy leave while in vet school??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

knockedupvet

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
This is my first time posting on something like this. I have read through all of the other threads about pregnancy and vet school, but no one has really addressed the question of how much time they plan on taking off after giving birth. I am due in early November and I will be attending MSUCVM. I am considering just deferring my admission for a year, but I really wish to avoid doing that. If I have the baby and have to take excessive time out of school, they will force me to do the semester over again. I would hate to get most of the way done with my first semester of vet school and take leave and be forced to retake the semester. Maybe it is better I just assume that will happen and as such take the year off? I have been told by numerous people that there is no way to be fair to a newborn and be in vet school. I was just wondering if anyone has any experience giving birth during the semester? How much time did you take off? Do you recommend deferring admission for a year? Thanks for all of your help!

Members don't see this ad.

I don't have any experience with this personally, but I know that there are a couple of pregnant students in the 4th year at our school, and one 4th year had a baby late this fall. Obviously the situation varies for everyone, and I don't know how much time this student took off as I don't know her very well (maybe she made sure her breaks during clinics were around her dute date?), but people do it. I've only known 4th years that were pregnant though, nobody who's in lecture all day. Sorry I can't give you more details.