Predent: CC transfer - choosing between UVA, Tech, and GMU

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

reneef

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I'm an upcoming sophomore at a community college and I'm weighing my options on where to go after this and between dental school. My main concern is making my application the strongest while keeping college affordable.

All I've gather right now is that UVA is the most prestigious. I've heard their academics are over the top and the amount of work and stress that will build throughout my junior and senior year will be pointless when the ultimate goal is to get into dental school. However, it's been my number one school without question till now because how much stronger can an applicant look from "The University of Virginia"?
I've heard nothing so negative of Tech. Great research opportunities. I was there over the summer for a research internship myself and very much enjoyed it, but nothing made me fall in love (Just figured I'd add it to the list since many people rave over Tech).
GMU was never on my mind until I started looking at numbers this week. I could commute there and save about 10k in two years by avoiding dorms/apartments. How does GMU compete with UVA as an applicant though? I'm also concerned how dental schools in different states will view an applicant who has never lived on her own.

I'm not concerned about the best social life; that can be made at all three schools. My main concerns are 1. making my application strong 2. keeping the costs down 3. gaining personal experience my last two years as an undergrad

Thank you for reading :)

Members don't see this ad.