Pre-reqs at CC? need some help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sabotai

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a degree in Business/Computer Science from a four year university, with a gpa of 3.98. I have a second degree in nursing a BSN, with a 3.97 gpa. I am currently finishing my FNP at a top ten university(overall and medical school) with a 3.98 gpa. My question is, due to my desire to go to medical school, would taking my pre-req classes a community college hurt my chances even after I have degrees from more than 1 four year university? I don't have the time or the money to not work during the few classes I would need. If you are wondering why I want to be an MD, it is because I work in the OR and want to be a surgeon. I basically will have thousands of hours shadowing, and will have been involved with thousands of surgeries.

Thanks for any help...

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Talk about being in a horrible spot. You wasted the time of a business and computer science program, which wouldn't be a big deal if you hadn't wasted the time of a BSN program and an FNP program. Anyone that sees your application will think you're just career jumping and don't know what you want in life. Then you want to be accepted on the basis of going into surgery when the shortage is family medicine. I think you should chill out for the next 3 to 5 years before considering applying to medical school. Clearly you are making bad decision after bad decision. For all you know, you'll quit surgery to start a law career.

HI! I am new here was wondering if someone could tell me how to post a new thread? I would really appreciate it! THANK YOU!

Members don't see this ad :)
The programs were paid and did their jobs. I completed every degree with honors. I spent years in every job. The fact I see myself as being able to achieve more shouldn't be a negative in this situation.