Pre-Opt Clubs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nc2tarheels

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm looking for some extracirriculars to get in with. Are there any pre-health EC's that I could join up with. I have PLENTY of work experience and shadowing experience. I'm an optician as well and have a 3.7 gpa. But I'd like to add to that list and get some EC's on my application. I'm currently on the deans list and in the honor society but need more. THanks in advance for the help.
Keith

Members don't see this ad.

Do you have any pre-optometry clubs at your school? Maybe you could join those. Also, if there's a Prevent Blindness near you, you could probably do vision screenings with them. They're really a great organization and I love volunteering with them!

Members don't see this ad :)
nc2tarheels, you seem like you have enough on your stats sheet. If you have a decent OAT score to go along with your gpa and experience, you don't really need to join any pre-health clubs or affiliations. In my opinion, you already have a really good chance to get in to optometry school. So don't worry if you can't find a pre-health club. Just have something for extra-curriculars like a sport or music affiliation.

Thanks for the advice. I like my application as is, but I'm trying to get in after just 3 years ;-) So the more the merrier. There are no pre-opt clubs and I'm not sure on the blindness organizations, I'll google it and check around.

i applied during my 3rd year and got into all the schools i applied for. Im sure you will be able to do the same.

what I mean is I'd like to get in without a bachelors. :)
What are your stats if you don't mind me asking.