Pre-Med Pro-tip #34059: Being nice to hospital staff, including non-physicians

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

n3xa

"the anchor"
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
You'd think this would be fairly obvious, but apparently not as I was informed otherwise this morning in regards to a student of mine.

And the reason why I am posting this in the non-trads section is that I deal with post-bacc students.

I don't think being nice to hospital staff, particularly ones that are doing YOU a favor (ie LETTING YOU SHADOW), is an unreasonable expectation to have. Is it? Have I really gone mad?

*deep breath*

rage-face.jpg

Members don't see this ad.

i agree. i work as a transporter at the hospital, which on the hierarchy of the hospital, may be the only thing under med student (lol). Many of my coworkers get in arguments with nurses, doctors, etc. and i can't help but think, "seriously, all of these people can torch your career." as a transporter I am fairly close with an ER secretary. She is in turn very close to all of the ER doctors. So you never know who is connected with who in the hospital. Always be nice to everyone. I have seen housekeepers eating in the cafeteria with doctors. You really never know.

Pre-Med Pro-tip #34060a
Be nice to everyone you meet because you never know what or who will come back to bite you in the ass.

Pre-Med Pro-tip #34060b
"The true measure of an individual is how he treats a person who can do him absolutely no good." ~ Ann Landers

Members don't see this ad :)
You'd think this would be fairly obvious, but apparently not as I was informed otherwise this morning in regards to a student of mine.