This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted885172

Thanks for Reading!

A little bit of Background: I'm an EMT, and I want to eventually be an ER Physician. In December 2018 I'll have a BS in Behavioral Health Psychology, and in December 2020 I'll have a BS in Nursing.

The way my BSN is structured, I have a significant amount of space left over for some extra education, and I was hoping I could get some insight into what a Medical School would think of adding any one of these degrees to my application.

I'm not looking for return on investment in terms of later earnings or even for better job prospects, so much as having a wider understanding of emergencies and emergency care in general. Plus maybe it could be a gold star that makes my application stand out for Med School and an EM Residency.

One option is a MA in Human Services Counseling with a Trauma/Crisis Cognate (online via Liberty University). This program doesn't lead to licensure as a counselor, and I'm wondering if a Medical School might look down on an online Master's Degree that was only for personal edification.

Another option is a (disgustingly expensive) MS in Disaster Medicine and Management (online via Philadelphia University), or an (surprisingly cheap) MS in Emergency Management (online via Arkansas State University). Same issue: will a Medical School look down on an online Master's Degree that was only for personal edification?

And then one more thing. In general, what do medical schools think of over-educated applicants? I don't mean to sound snooty or superior, I just don't want to hurt my prospects by seeming like I have no idea what to do with my life (however true that might actually be :) )

Thanks again for reading!

-Chris

Members don't see this ad.