Pre-Dental, Pre-Med: Which is Easier? :)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

predent1986

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm doing fairly well (probably graduate with between 3.3 and 3.5) and medical school is so unrealistic in its expectations. I know a couple of dentists and I've never shadowed before but I always love going to get my teeth cleaned/going to the dentist's office and I'm really happy that I know that this is what I want to do.

I'm majoring in Physics here at Lake Forest College and doing a double-degree with Mechanical Engineering at Washington University in St. Louis. I don't know why I'm doing either physics or mechanical engineering it's what my dad wants me to do and I love Chemistry but my dad says everyone majors in it (correction dad: that's Biology.) Would I be fine with a 3.3 or 3.4 and decent DAT scores with a major in Chemistry? I know I wouldn't be for medical school. :laugh: Plus everyone is a whole lot cooler on this forum. Pre-meds are pretty uptight!

Members don't see this ad.

The higher the GPA the better. The best thing to do is aim high and miss a little low. I think a 3.3 to 3.4 is fine, but it's average. You're in the middle of the pack. Try to distinguish yourself to the Adcoms by having stellar grades and it will go a long way for you when it comes time to apply.

predent1986 said:
I'm doing fairly well (probably graduate with between 3.3 and 3.5) and medical school is so unrealistic in its expectations. I know a couple of dentists and I've never shadowed before but I always love going to get my teeth cleaned/going to the dentist's office and I'm really happy that I know that this is what I want to do.