Pre-dental Postbacc Timeline advice needed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chocomaca

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good Evening Everyone!

I need some advice as I am trying to plan out my timeline. Any advice would be appreciated!

*GPA calculation
How are the GPAs calculated? I kind of have a complicated situation with my GPA because I have GPAs from three different institutions. I wasn't originally thinking to pursue dentistry...

I have a poor GPA from my first BA in Public Policy: 2.72
then, I got my masters in Public Health and got 3.71
I've started my post bacc program in the summer because I am lacking many of the science courses. So far, my gpa is 3.73.

Would they sum up all three of my school GPA's? or separate out the science courses from postbaccs and BA?

*LOR
Will it be okay for me to ask for LOR from a professor who's taking a sabbath? She taught two of the chemistry courses over the summer and now she's in her sabbath year. Since I am new to this school, I don't have many professors I've taken courses with. I've gotten both A's in her courses and she knows me by my name.

* DAT timeline
I first thought that I should take all my prerequisites to take my DAT, but by reading the old threads, it's okay to take the DAT before taking all the courses?

I've taken gen chem I, II, II over the summer, and right now I am taking ochem I, biology I and math. For the next two quarters, I will be taking rest of the biology and organic chem sequences with lab, and I wasn't sure when I should try to plan to take my DAT? I still need to take physics sequences and Human Anatomy and Physiology in Fall 2018-19.

My guess is that I should e-submit the application in May 2018, take the DAT that summer and send the scores in.Does this sound correct/doable?

I'll appreciate any comments. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

See answers in line below.

Good Evening Everyone!