practice track

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cooper12

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all! I'm a pgy 3 resident in internal medicine and am very interested in a career in Sleep Medicine. I wanted some more input on completing a practice track. Few questions- 1) If i complete this track at a acgme accredited sleep medicine fellowship site, would that fulfill my requirements? 2) If i complete this training in 12 months (july 2010- june 2011) will i be eligible to sit for the 2011 board exam ( the last exam to be eligle as the grandfathering process) ? 3) Will completing this pathway as opposed to an accredited fellowship limit the job opportunities that would be available? 4) traditionally, are participants given a salary during the training ? and if not, is moonlighting in your primary specialty allowed during the 12 months of training? Thanks!!!!

Members don't see this ad.

The practice pathway and fellowship pathway are 2 separate ways of obtaining board elgibility.

The practice pathway is generally done in a private practice setting and NOT at an ACGME accredited sleep fellowship site.

I am currently a 3rd year pulm fellow who will be graduating in June of 2010. I will be joining a private practice group with a strong emphasis on sleep along with pulm/cc. They operate a 6 bed sleep center.
Is it possible for me to complete the clinical part of the sleep requirements before taking the boards in 2011 via the practice pathway?

Members don't see this ad :)
It's possible that you can sit for the boards via the practice pathway, if you can satisfy their requirements for pt evals and PSGs (including MSLTs). The tricky part is that you need at least 12 months of time at the time of application, not when you actually sit for the boards. From the ABIM website: