practical # of audition rotations?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

How many audition rotations for EM?

• Total voters

OSUdoc08

Membership Revoked
Removed
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I've recently decided to apply exclusively to ACGME EM programs (I'm a DO student), and am faced with the decision of where and how many audition rotations to do.

After speaking with a number of current residents, I have recieved conflicting information. One resident tells me that it is important to rotate at the programs you are interested in to get the "upper hand." Another tells me that it looks like you are "shopping around," and they actually prefer you to be well-rounded with electives in different areas.

I've also been told that I need to get these rotations done June-September. I already have June taken up with a core rotation, and will only have 3 months available. The resident I talked to suggest I do one rotation per state I am interested in, but I am interested in more than 3 states.

Any suggestions? Opinions?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I guess ill be the first. I am a M4 and I did two of them. One at a "national" name and one with a little more "regional" flavor. I was considering doing a 3rd and lots of people told me it was a waste. As you can see by my list I have a ton of interviews including some of the better programs in the country. I also got rejected from some places but I dont think it has anything to do with the number of rotations I did.

As far as the DO thing I would ask Quinn or someone else on here who has a DO. I dont know if that changes things much. I would say you should avoid anti-Do places for obvious reasons.

As a DO a year ahead of you, I can tell you there are some very important points to take home from my experience....so take it or leave it for what its worth.