This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BB4Green

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I majored in biomedical engineering and got a 3.1 uGPA. I am going to do a SMP to make up for the low gpa.

All else equal, do you think medical schools prefer a high gpa (3.9) at a very good grad school, or realistically a lower/average gpa (3.6) at a large program that uses a med school curriculum?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I think you should ask your advisors at your SMP program. Since you are doing SMP right now, just do well and get 4.0 no matter what

I have been accepted into but not yet started the SMPs. I am deciding between one program in which I can get close to a 4.0, and one which offers a med school curriculum.

Realistically, it will be much harder to get a 4.0 in the one with a med school curriculum.

How should I choose?

Members don't see this ad :)
I have been accepted into but not yet started the SMPs. I am deciding between one program in which I can get close to a 4.0, and one which offers a med school curriculum.

Realistically, it will be much harder to get a 4.0 in the one with a med school curriculum.

How should I choose?
I personally would chose the one with the med school curriculum. I feel like being in a situation where you need to do an SMP, there’s doubts on whether or not you would be able to handle a med school curriculum. This would be a perfect opportunity to prove that you can, especially to yourself. As well, you’ll be able to explore which study habits work for you or not and that you can then carry on with you to medical school. I as well was in the same situation about deciding which program to chose especially fear of failure but ended up choosing the one with the medical school curriculum and was the best decision I made. uGPA 3.2 SMP GPA 4.0