Post Bacc Choice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PurplePreMed2019

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
After much thought and deliberation I have finally decided I want to apply to a post back program, however, I need help in deciding which one will best fit my needs.

I graduated from a top 10 university in the US one year ago and have since worked in the business sector. In undergrad I had a 3.4 cum gpa and a 3.2 science GPA, I graduated with a double major in Neuroscience and Public Policy.

I have most of my premed courses completed but I still need to take orgo and biochem. I definitely want to be in a program that will boost my GPA and preferable one that has linkage options as well.

Members don't see this ad.

I went to the UPENN post-bacc many years ago, when there were only a few other formal post-Bacc programs.
Considerations include -
1. Do you want to re-do your ALL of your premed courses or just the organic and biochem? Many of the better formal post-bac programs focus on students who have little premed coursework done and avoid repeaters. Another option includes that you could get a Masters, while taking ORGO and biochem. Med school adcoms like a master's degree if it is something you will learn from and makes sense in your life.
2. If you do decide to redo all or most of your premed coursework in a formal post-bac, do you want to go full time or part time? The Bryn Mawr program was one of the best programs, but students had to attend full-time, whereas the UPENN program could be done over 2 years, so we could take night classes, while working during the day.
3. Linkage options are great concept, but with lowish undergrad GPA, you might have limited options.