This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

arr8784

Reaction score
Hi, I've been a long time reader of these forums but this is my first time posting. After spending a long time debating whether to make a complete mid-life career change, I've decided to make the first step towards going to med-school, but as a non-traditional student I need to first get into a post-bacc program and was hoping to get some crowd-sourced application advice.

Just to give you a little bit of background I'm in my mid-30s, have a BA in Economics and a JD (both from Top 20 programs and graduated with a 3.75 and a 3.5 respectively). I've had what I consider an interesting, varied and relatively successful career (spent a few years doing renewable energy development, some time with a large international law firm and spent the last few years heading the operations of a real estate tech startup that didn't survive Covid). However, I hadn't been satisfied with my legal career for a while, only was fulfilled when I was volunteering my legal services for things like criminal defense clinics, and was always more interested in math and science growing-up, and was particularly fascinated with biology.

I've decided to apply to only one post-bacc program (Harvard Extension School) for a few reasons --1) I enrolled in some comp sci/math courses during the pandemic to keep my busy and found out I am not really a fan of online learning so I want a program that is in-person; 2) I want a formal program which sets out all the courses I need as opposed to taking a la carte ones through a local community college; 3) If I choose not to work while enrolled, ~$10k + living expenses is in the cards for me financially as opposed to the $30 to $40k of most other named programs; 4) I have some family obligations keeping me in the Northeast. [So as an aside, if there are other programs like this that people can recommend I'd appreciate it!]