Post Bac vs Doing it on my own

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kjharris

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone --

I am 28 years old and currently work in the investment industry. When I was in college majoring in business, I THOUGHT this was what I wanted to do with my life, but now I feel so disillusioned with the whole financial industry, like the only purpose of my job is to make rich people richer. I graduated from undergrad in 97 with a degree in International Business and a very limited science background. While I realize that I must take the science prereqs before I can even begin to consider applying to med school, I'm wondering if it really matters if I enroll in a post bac program or just take the prereqs on my own. Is the latter option frowned upon by admissions committees? My cumulative GPA from undergrad was 3.38 and my science GPA was 4.0 which is not as impressive as it sounds, since I only took one science class :) Anyway, sorry this is so long but I would really appreciate any opinions you guys could give!

Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.

I just pm'd you. hope it helps.

I did a post-bacc program on my own, after having been in a similar situation -- having a liberal arts degree and several years of job experience in a non-health field. My situation was slightly different, though, in that I was applying to optometry school rather than medical school.