Post-bac program or non-matriculated student? NYC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ddmd0502

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys! I've been following this forum for awhile but this is my first time creating my own thread. I've seen a lot of good advice being given on here so I figured I'd give it a shot - I'm desperate!
I'm currently in my senior year as an undergrad with a Speech Language Pathology and Audiology major. Over the past few months, I've discovered my passion for medicine and have decided I want to pursue med school. However, I feel a little lost as what to do next.
I screwed up a little bit my freshman year and got mostly B's with 2 C's. Since then, I've gotten my act together and have received pretty much straight A's. I'm estimating that I'll be graduating with ~3.6 undergraduate GPA. I know this is a relatively low GPA for med school, but I'm confident that I can keep up the hard work and earn good grades in whatever classes I need to take in the future.
I haven't taken any of the pre-reqs for med school yet. I have taken intro classes such as bio, chem, anatomy, & physics but none of these had a lab section so I'm assuming they won't count. I may have space for a few electives next semester before I graduate, but I will definitely need to either attend a post-bac program or take the pre-reqs somewhere as a non-matriculated student.
I live in NYC and I know there are a number of post-bac programs here, but I'm not sure if my grades would qualify me for schools such as NYU. Even if I did manage to get in, I'm not sure I could afford the ~$60k a year tuition. Hunter or another CUNY school would probably be my best bet tuition wise, but again I'm not sure how likely it is that I get into Hunter's post-bac because I've heard it's pretty competitive.