All Branch Topic (ABT) Post baac and Military

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gnich1914

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am planning on joining the military in some capacity (Reserve or Active) during medical school but I am taking a gap year first (1 year masters genetics/biomedical Eng.)
1.Would it be possible for me to be reserve for a year and then go active duty when accepted to med school?
2.Would I be able to be a reserve officer since I have a bachelor's?
3.And finally, could I receive any possible financial assistance during my post-baac?
I plan on entering military medicine regardless, so any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

1. If you went reserve for a year you would be able to do direct commissioned officer, but most likely
you would be a 70B series in the Army and you would also have to do drill each month, trainings,
and be eligible for deployment which would make trying to do master's level school difficult unless
it's all online

2. Yes in the Army you could possibly use your bachelor's degree to direct commission as a 70B

3. I don't believe you would get any financial assistance while doing the post bac as I don't think you'd be
eligible for the GI bill as a reservist, but perhaps if you joined the National Guard for your state you might
get free or reduced tuition to your state schools (many states have this), or you could get loan repayment
when you sign up during medical school.