This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hyacinth2060

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
What can a nontraditional student do in order to be competitive in their application? What have you done to position yourself competitively? Any help/advice/comments are immensely appreciated.

Any custom advice applicable specifically to me (please see below) would also be highly valued and appreciated:

I am currently residing in Texas and am twenty-six years old. I have a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering, so I would need to go back and take all the pre-requisites (i.e. organic chemistry, biochemistry, biology). What is the best way to do that? Through a Post-Bacc? Or maybe a graduate degree? As an FYI, I graduated with a 3.37 GPA and went to a unimpressive state school (it was free).​

How important is research experience? How important is volunteer experience? I do not have either of these, but I am willing to sign-up for volunteer experiences (even if it is during the evening/night or on a weekend - not an issue). Anything else I can do to help minimize my age, low GPA, and unimpressive undergraduate institution?

I have a well-paying career for my education/background, so I have accumulated a little bit of money (around $100k maximum). It still seems not enough to cover a Post-Bacc and Medical School though...would it make sense to continue to delay starting Post-Bacc/Graduate School in order to accumulate enough cash to pay for this endeavor fully? I hear that twenty-six is already so old, so is it better to just take on loans and start ASAP?​

Thank you for taking the time to read this and provide input. I have no one to ask these questions, so I am grateful for anyone taking their time to help.