Poll: Do you bring your clipboards with you to every room?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NYgirl2

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hmm...I thought I posted this but I can't find my post. I'm a newbie here, a third year med. student, and wondering what you all do with your clipboard when entering a patient's room. I always bring mine in with me (whether I'm doing a complete physical on my pt. or just stopping in to check on him/her). I has important info. on it, so I keep it with me at all times. (Also, I don't want to lose it!)

The other day, I was outside of a patient's room sitting at the hall desk writing notes, and another med. student from another school walked by me and sat his clipboard right next to me before walking into the patient's room. (Maybe he thought I'd guard it for him? :confused: Could he have left it there if no one was there? Who knows? I've never spoken to him before.) It didn't bother me or anything, and who knows if there was anything important on the top (I didn't look at it). If there was, would that be a hippa violation?)
After about several minutes of chatting with his patient, he came out of the room, slowly picked up his clipboard as though he was staring at me, :confused: and walked away. Weird stuff.

Anyway, fill me in on what you all do with your clipboards and if this is okay to do this.

Members don't see this ad.

Depends on what field you're in.

If you're in surgery, there's no way anyone would ever be caught dead holding a clipboard. :)

Now ER and IM, maybe...

Depends on what field you're in.

If you're in surgery, there's no way anyone would ever be caught dead holding a clipboard. :)

Now ER and IM, maybe...

Agree with above.

Members don't see this ad :)