Podiatric Medicine and Surgery Mentoring Thread

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

FootAnklesX

SDN Mentor
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is thread is for anyone who may have questions about the Podiatry / Podiatric Surgery profession and training. I am a practicing Podiatric Surgeon and will be more than happy to answer any questions to the best of my knowledge.

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
Do you think it is best to start out in private practice or in a group setting after finishing residency?

I know there are pros and cons for each (ie costly overhead, employees, etc for private practice).

Thanks

I think that it really depends on your situation upon finishing residency. If you do have the money to start your own practice, then I recommend you to go for it. Remember, you need to do your homework as to where you set up your private practice. The first few years of private practice may be tough but it will probably pay off in the end. It is always nice to be your own boss. If you don't have the capital to start your own private practice, then join a group practice. The advantage of a group practice when you are first starting out is that you have some other more experience physicians around to help you with coding or for you to discuss more difficult patient or surgical case with.

Applying: What is the normal procedure to applying for a residency? What if I want to do a more sports medicine directed study? Do most people wanting to do this shadow Orthopedic Surgeons? What is the average pay during this time? Do places help you with housing?