PM&R, Primary Care, and Residencies

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FitDoc

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just wondering?

I'm a second year student leaning very heavily toward PM&R due to my background and interests. In researching the various residencies out there for this field, I've seen no indication that Physiatrists have any role in what is considered "primary care". Would anyone care to comment on this position?

Secondly, would an osteopathic rotating internship and a broad-based PM&R residency program adequately prepare one to sit for Family boards if the overall result is to practice in a rural setting, and if so, are there suggestions as to which residencies might provide such training?

Thanks.

BT
OMS-II

Members don't see this ad.

Many PM&R physicians work with a disabled population as a primary care type of physician. Perhaps drusso or stinky could comment on whether PM&R residencies would adequately prepare you for actual first-line primary care medicine.
It sounds more like you are interested in FP with a sports fellowship type of program.

Members don't see this ad :)
I think there's an article by Joel Delisa about that very topic - being a primary care doc to the disabled population.

But DRUSSO is right - you can't sit for the family medicine boards with a PM&R residency.

FitDoc said:
Just wondering?

I'm a second year student leaning very heavily toward PM&R due to my background and interests. In researching the various residencies out there for this field, I've seen no indication that Physiatrists have any role in what is considered "primary care". Would anyone care to comment on this position?