Please I need help VERY low GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

a11790

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I really need help now coz I'm in a bad situation. I graduated with a cumulative g.p.a of 2.32 and I want to pursue starting a career in the U.S. The point here is do I stand any chance of getting accepted to any dental school in the U.S.??If i sent my transcript to the ECE evaluation will my GPA go much lower more?? (considering that gpa includes the electives also)Do they include electives in the evaluation record?? I did repeat some courses...so are these repeated courses considered?? Will applying for any diploma degrees,fellowships or master degrees in my country strengthen my CV and give me some hope in getting accepted into U.S dental schools?? And should I better apply to private dental schools to have some hope for acceptance?? I know unfortunately now the NBDE does not show scores but only pass/fail and this does hurt my chances even more. I am also considering to do an MFDS or GDC licence exam in the future to include as part of my CV and do some observership. I really need your help please..I will be thankful in being understanding and giving me some useful tips.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey there,

Your GPA is definitely on the lower end, but it doesn't mean that there's no point. It just means that you have to work harder and smarter than others to have the schools consider you despite the fact.
You'll need to get an ECE evaluation to even take the boards, and if you have detailed questions regarding how they evaluate scores it's probably best to ask them directly.
I know you have a lot of questions and unknowns, start from one thing at a time and the first step for you will be to get the ECE done to see where things are at. Where to apply etc comes later, much later down the road.. It's a long and tough journey, so be ready for it.

Good luck!

Hey there,