Please help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

premedkid10

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Before reading this I just want to say please refrain from judging and lecturing me about the following incident as I have heard all there is to be heard and have grown from this experience and have changed...well here we go,

When i was 20 (2 months prior to 21) I was stopped in NJ (I am a NY resident) and was taken in for Underage dwi. My blood alcohol content was .02, far from the legal limit of .08, but i was under 21 so there is a zero tolerance policy (fyi I had about a beer just before getting in the car hence the Blood alcohol content of .02- obviously far from drunk, but a stupid decision nonetheless) Luckily for me , this is only a traffic violation in NJ, so I do not have any criminal record at all.

Having said that, I was curious how this might affect my podiatric licensure in NY later on down the road. I have looked at the application and it only asks for misdemeanors and felonies so I believe I am ok in that regard- unless anyone here has any other input on that.

My real concern is future employers (such as a hospital) doing background checks. Will they look at my driving record? Although the incident happened in NJ, it WOULD show up on my NY driving record unfortunately. It would really be awful if such a stupid mistake would really hamper everything I worked so hard for. I am currently in podiatry school, doing extremely well near the top of my class. Again I know what i did was stupid and wrong and I really have learned from it and am better for it. Any input would be appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.