Please help me with my reapplication!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

reappadvice

Reaction score
Hi! I’m an ORM CA applicant, and this cycle was my first. I applied to 32 MD programs, but have not received any II’s. I do believe one problem for me was my school list; although I did apply to lower-tier programs, overall I shot too high!

School list aside, I would really appreciate some feedback on how I should proceed and maximize my chances for admission during my reapplication.

I graduated from a top 10 public university in 2018 and have since been working full-time as a research assistant doing basic science research at a top 5 medical school and volunteering as a nurse assistant. I applied with no non-clinical volunteering, but I started volunteering with a program last month. I have provided a brief overview of my application below. Please let me know if I can clarify or add anything. Thank you in advance!

GPA:
BS in Pharmacology
Overall: 3.50
Overall Science: 3.48
Overall breakdown: Freshman: 2.96 Sophomore: 3.26 Junior: 3.66 Senior: 3.91
Overall science breakdown: Freshman: 2.56 Sophomore: 3.26 Junior: 3.70 Senior: 3.90

MCAT:
Total: 516 C/P: [131] CARS: [124] BB: [130] P/S: [131]

Research Experience:

Biopharmaceutical industry intern: I was a summer intern at a biopharmaceutical company during college.

Undergrad basic science lab: 3000 hours total. Began Junior year. Volunteered 40 hours per week during senior year working on senior thesis. I was awarded a small grant for my project. Graduated with distinction in research for my project. Presented 1st author poster.

Gap year basic science lab: 3600 hours total. Co-author nature publication.

Clinical Experience:

Nurse Unit Assistant: Hours: 120
Speak with patients and offer anything they might need. Restock supplies. Discharge patients.

Hospital lobby volunteer: Hours: 250