Please Help me understand: Dental Treatment

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

akaykay

Rookie
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Pharmacist here who hasn't been to a dentist in about 8 years (yeah I know, I'm a health professional and what am I thinking? Long Story...)

Anyways, I recently went to the dentist and he told me he needs to do my cavities which I've had for a long time, so on my billing statement it says:

Amalgam 2 Surf 5 MO --> $171.00
Amalgam 3 Surf 29 MOD --> $190.00
Comp 2 Surf Ant 6 DL --> $189.00
Comp 3 Surf Ant 10 DFL --> $212.00
Comp 3 Surf Post 20 MOD --> $263.00
Comp 2 Surf Post 21 OD --> $225.00

What the heck do these words mean? I know amalgam is silver but what is Comp and MO/MOD/DL etc

So I end up paying almost $400 out of pocket after my insurance which to me seems high because I don't remember 8 years ago paying this much for fillings but then again it was 8 years ago.

Members don't see this ad.

sounds about right...dunno why hes doing amalgam on the other teeth...letters stand for tooth surfaces btw

Pharmacist here who hasn't been to a dentist in about 8 years (yeah I know, I'm a health professional and what am I thinking? Long Story...)

Anyways, I recently went to the dentist and he told me he needs to do my cavities which I've had for a long time, so on my billing statement it says:

Amalgam 2 Surf 5 MO --> $171.00
Amalgam 3 Surf 29 MOD --> $190.00
Comp 2 Surf Ant 6 DL --> $189.00
Comp 3 Surf Ant 10 DFL --> $212.00
Comp 3 Surf Post 20 MOD --> $263.00
Comp 2 Surf Post 21 OD --> $225.00

What the heck do these words mean? I know amalgam is silver but what is Comp and MO/MOD/DL etc

So I end up paying almost $400 out of pocket after my insurance which to me seems high because I don't remember 8 years ago paying this much for fillings but then again it was 8 years ago.

Comp = Composite = Tooth colored filling.