Please Explain to Me What is an MPH?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

qwopty99

Optometrist
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
this is meant to be a serious question.

someone who obtains a Master in Public Health.... what exactly composes the curriculum? having gone through a professional school (optometry) - we had our epidemiology course. i guess i'd like to know answers to the following:

- is an MPH basically statistics applied to biology?
- is an MPH a research degree or an administration (i.e. administering public health) degree?
- for those NOT in academia (e.g. private practice medicine) how does an MPH help you?
- for those IN academia, how does an MPH help you?

i'm just curious because though i have an advanced degree, i have a faculty appointment in a medical school and am looking for other credentialing opportunities (other than a PhD).

Members don't see this ad.