Please don't hate me, another chances post...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dime

:)
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
_

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Clearly you are competitive.

Members don't see this ad :)
I am a student at Columbia Mailman School of Public Health and I believe you would be a good candidate. Columbia really stresses having work experience. However, if you want to apply to their global health track, I believe you need at least a year of full time experience abroad.

3.02 GPA from Ivy League school (Last two years were significantly better than first two)
Bio major
V 660 (94%), Q 720 (75%), AW 4.5 (63%)
Former pre-med student who realized, after finishing a post-bacc, that public health would lead to a more fulfilling life
Even went so far as to do a post-bacc at another Ivy... First semester, two B+'s, Second semester (after the public health realization), 1 C+ and a C
Volunteer work in ER of hospital and at Doctors Without Borders
Spent a summer in Nigeria volunteering at hospital in small village
Research in food science
Proficient/fluent in 3 languages
Working as a coordinator for an educational development project for the largest university system in Nigeria (I am based domestically, though)
Hmmm, what else...

I'm interested in health policy & management with a specialization/electives in global health. Columbia and NYU Wagner are my top choices...

Any input? (Suggestions on where to apply, motivational speeches, etc.)

Thanks all!

Congratulations, you're a wiener!

@wanttoph That's Ms. Ivy League to you! ;)

Thanks guys for your words of, errr, encouragement. I was actually a bit worried, but it seems as if it shouldn't be a problem...

Last edited:
Also, schools pay more attention to your GPA in your last two years of undergrad so your GPA shouldn't be an issue if you did much better the last two years.