This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Post Bacc vs. Masters to be more competitive

• Post Bacc

Votes: 2 66.7%
  • Masters

Votes: 1 33.3%

• Total voters

dr.ihaveacutedog

Reaction score
Hello! I am a completely new poster, so forgive me if this sucks and it's too long but know I am really trying.

I am a 21 yo recent graduate as of last month with a Bachelors in Health Science. A little about my history, I initially went to college away from my hometown with the intentions of becoming an audiologist. I decided my second year that I wanted to pursue veterinary medicine, then in my third year (and final year, I graduated early) I changed to full blown human medicine. This was not something I ever expected to be pursuing EVER, but it is 10000% my passion and my purpose. ANYWAY, after much research at the beginning of that year I decided to move home to save money on rent and help out my mom. I was able to take all of my pre-meds because they're practically the same for VM, secure a research position, work in the hospital, shadow a neurosurgeon, volunteer and all that jazz in a matter of a year. However, I struggled with my grades due to some unfortunate personal and familial problems so I didn't do near as well as I should of. I have gotten my issues sorted out now though. My stats are:
Overall GPA - 3.68
sGPA (AMCAS) - 3.36
I am taking the MCAT in January. I am going to try to do as well as I can!