Plan of Action... advice welcome

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedGrl@2022

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey fellow SDNers. I will be submitting my application in June. It has been a while since I have applied to medical school so I wanted some advice. I applied once in 2007.

I graduated in 2007 with a BS in Biochemistry and a minor in Psychology. 3.78 GPA probably higher science GPA. I had lots of extracurriculars and some awards.

Since I graduated I have been mostly doing research at the National Institutes of Health. I also worked at the University of Connecticut Health Center and done several odd jobs to pay the bills and rent. One year I just worked as a waitress because it was difficult finding a research job in the economy (I kept trying though). I currently work at NIH at the National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism. I have presented my research at conferences. I have published a couple abstracts. I am working on two publications.

I have done some volunteering since graduating. Mostly health outreach and education. I volunteered for a year-ish at the International Rescue Committee, developing some health care education activities and materials for refugees and asylees (unfortunately, I never directly worked with refugees/asylees at that time). I currently volunteer as a health care educator for a women's shelter, before this I was a volunteer mentor for a family and tutored their children.