piling on science courses

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gaki

needs help
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I guess this is more pertinent to the specific few who do not have any science/math courses in their undergrad experiences or bac-experiences.. maybe majored in art or music prior.. are any of you going to try to pile on all of your science classes at once? 1 straight year of phys, chem, bio, etc? anyone tried it and regret it?

im tempted to do this but im not sure how wise a decision this is. .. but then again I am worried spreading it out will set me back a year.

opinions?

Members don't see this ad.

It can be done, but I wouldn't recommend it. ESPECIALLY if you don't have a strong math background already.

I did all 4 pre-reqs in one year - but 2 classes were repeats (Phys and GChem) - because they were over 13 years old. Also, I have a degree in Elec Eng and have tons and tons of math under my belt. It was still a lot of work.

I think your biggest hurdle would be math. A supporting player in all classes to a differeng degree - but if you don't already have it 'down', you can become totally bogged down and mess up your whole plan. You don't want to be half way through the semester thinking "If I could only do vectors and trig, physics would be easy" and "If I could only do quadratics, GCHEM would be easy". Those classes don't stop - and if you don't keep up, you'll be lost.

If, however, you are real quick with Math, and think you can do it, go for it. From what I've heard on here and talking to others at my school, it's not very common.

Think of it this way: Spreading it out over 2 years means you start med school a year later. Trying to do it all in one year and failing will put you back more than that - if not derail your chances of being a doctor at all.

Good luck
chop