Physics Phobia

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

internetwop

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I'm new here. Just wondering if anyone could give advice for the physics portion of the MCAT. I'm really lousy when it comes to physics & want to know best way I can tackle it! I started studying for the August MCAT...I hope 2 1/2 months is enough time to prepare!! It's difficult to get the energy to do this since I just got done with the semester!!!! Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I too was worried about the physics portion becuase I felt like I didn't understand much of the physics I took in school. But, I found that the physics on the MCAT is pretty easy relative to the bio and gchem portions. And physical science ended up being my best section on all the practice exams (12s consistently). You don't actually have to understand that much about physics. Just know the important equations and read the passages well. I often could figure out the equation to use to determine the unknown and just plugged numbers in when needed. Also, be confident. If you feel like you won't do well, then you not only have to master the material, but you have an uphill battle against yourself. Accept that you won't get all the questions right. Practice is important because you can get the feel for questions and maybe learn little tricks for yourself to get around difficult appearing questions. Good luck!