Physician willing to write a letter of recommendation for 2022-2023 application cycle?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AngePan

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know this seems unorthadoxed, but I have really been struggling to find a physician to write me a letter of recommendaton. I am currently living in Japan and the idea of shadowing does not really exist here. I have some experience shadowing in the US but it was years ago and not enough to ask for a letter of recommendation.

I would love to be able to do some interviews beforehand in order for the writer to learn about me and for me to learn more about their specialty and journey to becoming a physician. I know it is also late in the year to be asking this but all the other routes I have tried have been unsuccessful.

Please and, a huge, thank you to anyone who is interested or willing.

Members don't see this ad.

You will be happy to know that most medical schools do not require a letter from a physician you have shadowed. Letters from professors or work supervisors are more usual.

Reactions: 3 users
Look for US trained physicians working abroad. They'll understand the situation and are more likely to help.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
You don't really need a physician letter unless you're applying to DO schools.

Kevin W, MCAT Tutor
Med School Tutors

Reactions: 1 user
Look for US trained physicians working abroad. They'll understand the situation and are more likely to help.
This^^^.