Phone interview for a PIC/ownership position in a few days. Advice and comments appreciated.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

justjoe

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
The benefit package is lucrative, much better than at my current job. There is a regional chain that bought out an independent and they are hiring for a pharmacy manager. I got a phone interview. I have seven years of retail experience. Never been a PIC.

I think they are desperate for a PIC. They are also looking for the PIC to eventually have some kind of ownership stake in the pharmacy. The pharmacy is in a small town of about 1500 people and is the only pharmacy in the area.

Any comments or advice for this situation? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Something smells if they are basically giving it away.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
As a PIC in a rural area, it doesn't sound so strange to me that they would struggle to find a PIC - the two jobs people don't want are PIC jobs and rural jobs. When I applied for my job, there were a lot of unemployed pharmacists hunting around for staff jobs but I was one of only two applicants for this position.

Walmart also talks about having "ownership mentality" over the pharmacy but you don't own ****.

Why would a chain, regional or otherwise, give you an ownership stake?

I would seriously consider it. If the only thing that holds you back is being a PIC, working full time as a staff at an independent is basically doing everything that a PIC does except people don't take you seriously because you "are not the manager." And working as a PIC at an independent is doing everything that the owner does except people don't take you seriously because you "are not signing their paychecks."