Pharmacy vs. Medicine

samisab786

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I think there are topics about this already, but I wanted to discuss my options according to my POV.

For a very long time in high school, I was flip flopping between medicine and pharmacy. Now I'm a recent high school graduate and the school I'm going to now I chose because I'm staying at home for a year or two to get used to taking care of my diabetes before I decide to dorm. Therefore, I'm also contemplating on the option of transferring (but that decision will obviously wait till I actually attend school). When I came to the school on orientation day, I was told I got into the pharmacy program.

The reason I thought about pharmacy for a while was because I enjoyed chemistry in high school and thought pharmacy demands less time than medicine. My mom also really loved it when I put pharmacy as my list of choices because she said that it's a more relaxing job, it demands less of you unlike medicine while requiring some of the same pathways as medicine but in a different manner. And people also seem to be dropping out of medicine. I've been hearing how demanding the career is and how even intelligent students find it very difficult. For me, my best work does not come from me being super intelligent, I work REALLY hard. I've worked the hardest I possibly could in high school. So medical school seemed like a whole something else.