Pharmacist LOR

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

atnguy13

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
A pharmacy school I would like to apply to recommends a LOR from a pharmacist, which I don't have. Would anyone like to share their experience on how they received a letter without being a pharmacy tech I can do on short notice? I was told that shadowing isn't an option because of HIPPA. Even if I got a chance to shadow a pharmacist, is it too much to ask after only meeting me for a couple days, would it even be a strong letter for someone who hardly knows me?

Members don't see this ad.

A pharmacy school I would like to apply to recommends a LOR from a pharmacist, which I don't have. Would anyone like to share their experience on how they received a letter without being a pharmacy tech I can do on short notice? I was told that shadowing isn't an option because of HIPPA. Even if I got a chance to shadow a pharmacist, is it too much to ask after only meeting me for a couple days, would it even be a strong letter for someone who hardly knows me?

I postponed my app due to wanting to get my tech license first

Last edited:
I postponed my app due to wanting to get my tech license first, then started off as a pharmacy cashier for about 2 years and then worked 2 more years as a pharmacy tech and finally am able to confidently say that I have received 2 great letters of rec from 2 different pharmacists in charge (1 from my pharmacy manger). Therefore, I would definitely say that it would not be a great idea asking someone you shadowed for a few days, unless it'ys been at least 1 year.
ue
yes

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
Just don't get one. There's not much you can do and shadowing someone just for a letter is a real stretch.

If I were in your shoes I would get a pharm tech job. You might be able to get a LOR out of it but the experience will be much more valueable.

Last edited: