Pharmacist Income (after tax) in WA, TX

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

unit18

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone. Im a pharmacy student in Alberta, Canada and Im planning to work in the US when I graduate.

I was just wondering how much do pharmacists get taxed in Washington and Texas, becuase those are the 2 places I will want to work.

Assuming I get paid ~$55/hr (maybe more due to inflation). How much money can I realistically expect to make per month (after Taxes, 401K, insurance, etc) but before (entertainment, food, rent, transport, etc)

I know that Texas doesnt tax very heavily, so any opinion from people living in Washington and Texas would be helpful.

Members don't see this ad.

http://paycheckcity.com/netpaycalc/netpaycalculator.asp

I've used that website to figure out how much my net income would be in different states... you can also add in deductions to figure out income after insurance/401k/etc. It's been pretty accurate, within 20 dollars of the actual amount of money I've brought him.

Thanks for the site, I checked it out...

I cant really trust the results from these things because they are too generalized. I would really like a first hand opinion..

Anyone work as a pharmacist in Texas?

Members don't see this ad :)
Why not just bust out the old calculator and run the numbers yourself? It is pretty easy and will give you a good idea because it is going to vary depending on if you own a home or rent, if you are married, have kids, have a side business etc.

Say you worked 40 hours/week at $55/hr.

40x55x52= 114400

114400-15500(max out 401k)=98900

28% fed tax leaves you with 71208 and then professional liability insurance will probably run you around $150/year so in your pocket you will have something like:
$71,058/year
$5,921/month

Just a rough estimate but I bet it is not far off for those who are single and renting.