This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JustBeingPatient

Reaction score
I am having a hard time with a supplemental essay that states "Please explain a leadership role you have taken on and what you have learned from this experience. (1000 characters)"

I am having a difficult time coming up with a leadership experience. I have been searching around for examples and many are the typical leadership examples-- heading a project or a team, joining an organization. I cannot think of a time that I have had a "typical" leadership role.

I have worked at a variety of jobs for 14 years- in high school, college, and in the 6 years since I graduated. In these jobs I have been praised for my hard work and have been a vocal, creative, and contributory team member.
Some roles:
  • small business owner, but I am the only employee
  • voluntary team member in a committee at the hospital I work at that aims to involve the hospital more in the community
  • middle and high school teacher
I would say that I can demonstrate that I take initiative, collaborate, have strong communication skills, and can work as a team member. However, I am struggling because I haven't "lead" other people or delegated tasks to them.

Is there an angle that I am missing?

What leadership experiences do you have?-- maybe hearing others' will help me figure out my own

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I am having a hard time with a supplemental essay that states "Please explain a leadership role you have taken on and what you have learned from this experience. (1000 characters)"

I am having a difficult time coming up with a leadership experience. I have been searching around for examples and many are the typical leadership examples-- heading a project or a team, joining an organization. I cannot think of a time that I have had a "typical" leadership role.