Pediatrics residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chickenlittle17

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a senior resident in a Canadian residency program (Canadian trained) in a program with significant overlap with pediatrics and was hoping to get additional training in the states to be dual licensed.
Does anyone have any advice or feedback for my situation?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
You will have to contact the american board of pediatrics to see if you can get credit and how many years you can get. After you get that information from the board, you will have to contact programs to see if they can accommodate you for 1 or 2 years. Often, some programs have openings for PGY2 and PGY3 (some residents leave residency).

Great thank you. I will contact ABP for further clarification. So I likely would not be eligible to apply during the match? After I discuss with them potential credit, would I just blanket contact programs and ask what their availability would be like?

Members don't see this ad :)
available PGY2 and PGY3 positions are usually posted here:

I see 2 PGY2 positions and 1 PGY3 available.

Great thank you. I will contact ABP for further clarification. So I likely would not be eligible to apply during the match? After I discuss with them potential credit, would I just blanket contact programs and ask what their availability would be like?
Generally, speaking, you have to complete the entire US residency to graduate and be board eligible. There’s no such thing as credit for foreign graduate medical education.

See “Non-accredited Training”

Edit: It appears some of the rules changed in 2016, specific to Canada.
BTW, the ACGME sets the rules for residency transfers, not the ABP.

Last edited:
Generally, speaking, you have to complete the entire US residency to graduate and be board eligible. There’s no such thing as credit for foreign graduate medical education.