This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bumblebeeh3

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone. Hoping to get some insight about applying into Pediatric Residencies. I graduated 3 years ago and have been practicing pediatric dentistry in a low-income/medicaid health clinic as a general dentist. Ive taken a ton of CE on peds but its just not enough and I have to refer away a lot of the patients I see and they never do get seen. I have gone back and forth about applying into peds and have decided to just apply this year. The reason for this is cause I was not top 30 of my class. Heck I wasnt even top 50. I was probably top 80. closer to top 90? haha! in dental school i was only looking to survive, never thought about specializing like the other gunners... i guess its biting me in the butt right now. I was hoping for some insight about my situation. I realize my application is not very competitive so to be blunt, should I just select all? and hope someone gives me an interview? are there some residencies I should not even bother with and save some money. Also I dont get paid very well since I work in a clinic so it would be nice to save some application fees

Members don't see this ad.