Pediatric board review course

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MDHen

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone have any advice on pediatric board review courses. I found the Pass Machine course in Chicago online that guarantees passing or your money back but I have never heard of the course. I am also looking at the Children's National course offered in Maryland. I failed last year by 2 points and as a practicing physician I think I need the focused time away from work/family to ensure passing this year. I did the MedStudy books, PREP questions, and Laughing Your Way through the Boards last year. Any advice is welcomed. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I saw that pediatric course online and was thinking about taking it until I saw this:
http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=822129

I failed last year too. Not by much. I think I used too many board review books and courses. By the end I felt like i'd done so much but learned so little. Kind of overwhelming.

I'm using PBR this year and I really like it. It seems well written, sticks to topics that I remember from last year and it doesn't overwhelm you with the minutia that wasted my time last yr. My friend used it and passed last year. I'm hoping I have the same results. I'm also going through PREP questions.

With Medstduy i felt like it went too much into details that weren't even on the exam. It was like they were trying to make sure you couldn't blame them if you failed because every possible topic within pediatrics was there. And the DVD course had a bunch of subspecialty docs that seemed to love talking about their pet research projects. GRRR!