PCAT Study Materials

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dinozk

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am studying for the PCAT for the next 3-4 months. I have the 2018 Dr. Collins study guide and the 2018 Kaplan book. I plan on buying the Pearson practice tests later too. Do you think this is enough study material for the test? If so, how should I divide the material? From my research, Ive heard that Collins is good for Chemistry and Quant. Reasoning while Kaplan is better for Biology.
Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Yes that should be enough. And yes, Collins is good for chemistry.
Start would with reading a section or two of Bio daily and doing one or two of any of the practice exams from Collins. Go over every answer to make sure you understand it. Don't take the practice exams until a few weeks before the exam (I had 2 exams from Kaplan and I took one a week leading up to the exam).

I am studying for the PCAT for the next 3-4 months. I have the 2018 Dr. Collins study guide and the 2018 Kaplan book. I plan on buying the Pearson practice tests later too. Do you think this is enough study material for the test? If so, how should I divide the material? From my research, Ive heard that Collins is good for Chemistry and Quant. Reasoning while Kaplan is better for Biology.
Thank you!
Hi,
Could you let me know where did you buy Dr. Collins 2018? I have been looking for it for a while. Thank you.

That should be sufficient, especially if you’ve taken the relevant prerequisite courses in college.

Kaplan practice tests are harder, but still good practice. Definitely do the Pearson tests under timed conditions as they’re pretty close to the real PCAT. Assess what subjects you’re weak in from each practice exam.