PCAT-Calculus Supplement

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CuRy

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
The study guides haven’t been updated to the recent changes on the PCAT test (since October 2004). The publishers don’t even provide us a supplement! I have been a chemical engineer for five years and now applying for pharmacy schools. Because I took both Oct. and Nov. PCAT tests recently, a friend of mine asked me to advise her on Calculus. I made an outline for her and some of you might be interested it. There are about 10/58 questions related to Calculus. You could use any Calculus textbook to review the items below.

I/ Vectors:
1) Vector a = (a1, a2) is a two-dimensional vector with real numbers a1 and a2.
Features: As a vector is moved parallel to its original one, its coordinates a1 and a2 are unchanged.
2) Given the points A(x1, y1) and B(x2, y2), the vector a representing vector AB is
vector a = (x2-x1, y2-y1)
3) The length of the vector a(a1, a2) is
a = sqrt (sq a1 + sq a2)
The length of vector AB from A(x1, y1) to B(x2, y2) is
AB = sqrt (sq(x2-x1) + sq(y2-y1))
4) Vector addition: vector a = (a1,a2) and vector b = (b1,b2)
vector a + (or -) vector b = (a1 +(-) b1, a2 +(-) b2)
You should know its geometrical representations (Triangle Law and Parallelogram Law)
5) Multiplication of a vector by a scalar (real number)
vector a = (a1, a2) and c is a scalar then c*(vector a) = (c*a1, c*a2)
6) The dot product of vector a = (a1, a2) and vector b = (b1, b2) is a real number
(vector a)*(vector b) = a1*b1 + a2*b2

The product of three vectors is a vector (because the product of first two vectors is a real number or scalar!).

II/Composite function f[g(x)]
ex: Given f(x) = sq(x+4) + 2x + 3 and g(x) = x+1, find f[g(x)]
f[g(x)] = sq[(x+1)+4] + 2(x+1) + 3 {treat g(x) as old x}
= sq(x+5) + 2(x+1) + 3 = (sq x +10*x + 25) + (2x + 2) + 3
= sq x + 12x + 30

III/ Limits: