PCAT=Barron's?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PharmEm

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm taking the practice PCAT tests in the Barron's PCAT study guide and wanted to know how similar is it with the actualy PCAT. Hopefulyl a person who has already taken the PCAT and who used the Barron's study guide can answer this one.

Also, how can you score the practice PCATS? If the biology section has 100 questions, and you get 20 wrong, does that mean you get an 80%? Is it this simple or do they score it another way? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I studied with Barron's only (other than going back to my textbooks to review certain subjects I kept answering wrong). I thought that they had far too many questions with lengthy calculations (much more complicated and lengthy than was on the actual PCAT) in the chem and math sections. All those calculations were kind of a waste of time and made me very scared that I wouldn't finish those sections in time. Also, Barron's didn't have any ochem questions, and my PCAT had a lot of ochem questions (but easy ones from the first semester: naming, basic reactions, recognizing functional groups, etc.)

As far as grading, I don't really understand the question. You can grade it however you want. The score won't really correspond to what you'd get on the PCAT though, because the PCAT isn't graded by the % you answer correctly. Just for a reference, though, I started out scoring about 75/100 on the Barrons PCAT practice tests, and eventually got up to the mid 80's. On the actual PCAT I scored 99% composite. But my goal was to be prepared to answer correctly any question that might be on the PCAT, so I did a lot of studying from the textbooks and the questions I answered wrong with that goal in mind.

Use more than one practice book. Each have their own strengths and weaknesses.