Paying Bills While in Med School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MrsRamen

Pre-Med, BioChem & Music
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am so excited - I have completed the pre-med curriculum, I've completed the MCAT and got an *okay score. I've sent out the primary application - and now I'm wondering.....

How am I going to pay for my car, vespa, credit cards, etc while I am in med school? (if I get in)

I've been struggling with part-time work and taking out loans, but my bills are $700 a month.....how will I pay them when I'm a full-time med student in the throes of memorizing every little thing in the human body.

Anyone who has done this? Any advice? What are you guys planning on doing?

(can't rely on the husband - i'm officially divorced after next month)

Members don't see this ad.

It's called loans sweetie. You take out student loans to pay off credit card loan, bank loans, mortgages if you have one, etc. Welcome to the wonderful life of a medical student.

I'm struggling with this as well. We will be able to live partially off my wife's income, but I'm not wanting to totally rely on her for living expenses...we have the cars paid off, but have a consolidation loan that might not be completely paid off if/when we sell the house....not to mention a mortgage.

I'm really hoping to maybe buy a duplex and rent out half and live in half and make the payment, or part of it, with the rent money, but not sure that will work.

With DO schools all being in the 35K range for tuition, I'm a little concerned. Especially considering we already have student loan payments, life insurance, investments, and other things we will need to continue to make payments to.

Members don't see this ad :)