Path(s) to palliative fellowship and beyond

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NY Musicologist

Career Changer
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just thought I'd start a formal thread re. this common question (which has already popped up elsewhere on our embryonic H/P forum):

Which residencies (including sub-Is, transitional years, etc. if appropriate) are the most common and/or the most advisable entry points for careers in hospice and palliative medicine?

Members don't see this ad.

usually FP/IM/neurology

Hello,

I'm a 4th-year medical student who is applying to psychiatry. I have been learning on the interview trail that psychiatrists are starting to do palliative care work as well as the ones mentioned above.

Members don't see this ad :)
shrinks are able to apply for pain fellowships and can handle the psychosocial and comorbid psychiatric symptoms too. Good intro into this specialty. Is it okay paying?

Are anesthesiologists able to train in palliative care and be competitive for palliative care/hospice jobs?

I know one attending at the VA who got into it through IM and then a heme/onc fellowship.

At my old hospital we had a palliative care fellowship through IM, a palliative consult service, and an inpatient hospice service. My current hospital doesn't have this and the issues seem to be handled in a more fractured manner among social work, psychiatry, and the pain service (mostly anesthesiologists, I think). It works, but I have to say that my old hospital (UPMC Presbyterian/Montefiore) was AMAZING at this. They had docs, social workers, a music therapist, and a psychologist working together on one service. And they were all super nice. It really really rocked.