Pass in core clerkship in field of interest

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PickleRick19

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

First, some background. I'm a 3rd year med student with a 245 step 1 score, mostly high passes/honors in pre-clinicals (w/ one pass in a behavioral class), some research (one pub and another on the way), community involvement w/ volunteering at clinics, 2 mission trips, yada yada.

Now, my concern. A few weeks ago I finished up my internal med core clerkship, my first of 3rd year. I just found out I received just a "pass", barely missing high pass by a fraction of a percent. The problem is that I didn't do so hot on the shelf, scoring a 72% raw. While I'm definitely not trying to make excuses, I think the reason was I was placed at hard locations and couldn't balance study time well enough (it being my first rotation didn't help either). My evals were mostly fine, averaging an 89% (had some arguable ones but what can you do). The cutoff for "high pass" at my school in IM is 85%, but obviously residency programs won't care or see that I missed it by a minuscule amount.

My main question: I realized after doing IM that I may want to go into it. Will a "pass" in IM really look that bad given my other stats/will it automatically bar or filter me from matching to competitive residencies? Although it'd be nice, I don't care much for the top 10-20 programs, unless it's in Ohio (where I'm from) where I want to end up matching. I also don't want to end up at bottom tier programs. I know the general advice to honor the hell out of Sub-Is, 4th year clerkships in the field, etc etc, but I just can't seem to find advice about what a pass might mean for my matching goals (even in other fields) or what it looks like to PDs given the rest of my app. Any input?