Pass/fail vs letter grade medical schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ndi_amaka

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
In deciding what medical school to go to, I must put into consideration the grading system. What are the advantages & disadvatages of going to a honors/pass/fail school versus an A-F med school ot her than the differences in stress level??

Members don't see this ad.

im not an expert at all, but here's what i would think:

A-F system more accurately shows your performance in your classes, so it can help you if you make good grades and you're trying to get into a good residency program. conversely, if you don't do well it can hurt your chances.

Pass/Fail simply shows that you completed your classes, so residency programs only have your school's reputation, your USMLE scores, and any recommendations to go by when considering you. i would guess that a person with good grades from an A-F school would have an advantage, but that's purely speculation

just my $0.02

Pass/fail = 3rd year intense competition

Grades = three years of intense competition

Honors/pass/fail= refer to Grades.

i left out fourth year for good reason. it's the most expensive vacation you'll ever have.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
When you're considering grading systems, make sure that the pass/fail systems are really pass/fail, rather than the honors/high pass/pass/marginal pass/fail. That sure looks like A/B/C/D/F to me, but a lot of schools are making big noise about it.

pass/fail = more cooperative learning, less competition, and a dependance on written evaluations and school prestige for residencies.

Pass/fail doesn't really exist. HollyJ is right. It's usually honors/high pass/pass/conditional pass/fail. With 60% of students at pass, 20% with high pass, and 10% honors. (remaining 10% conditional or fail)